At Clowns we strive to foster the natural academic abilities of the children in our care.  All staff take into account the unique and varied experiences the children have already had and we work collaboratively with parents and carers to build upon and extend this knowledge.

Both the Day Nursery and Manor House Pre-School follow a play based framework called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). We enhance and extend this framework in order to fully meet the needs of the children and their families.   The framework covers 7 areas of learning.

Prime Areas

Communication and Language
Personal Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development

Specific Areas

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design.

The ‘Prime Areas’ are prominent throughout the curriculum at Clowns.  The ‘Specific Areas’ are officially introduced into the curriculum from the age of 3, however all children at Clowns are given opportunities to develop in all 7 areas of learning and development throughout the nursery.  This allows the children in our care to reach their highest potential, regardless of their age or stage of development.

We are incredibly proud of what our children have achieved by the time they leave Clowns and move onto other educational settings.